Go to main content

Campsite Les Varennes ****

Campsite photos
Campsite Les Varennes Campsite Les Varennes
General information

At Campsite Les Varennes in Le Bois-Plage-en-Ré (Charente-Maritime) camping costs as little as €19,- per night during low season with CampingCard ACSI. At one of the 56 touring pitches you will get a discounted rate during the period 07-04-2018 - 06-07-2018 and 03-09-2018 - 29-09-2018. At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A small, happy, family campsite under tall conifers with good amenities. Fairly sheltered pitches. There is a nice sandy beach within walking distance. Heated indoor pool with free jacuzzi. Free wifi on the whole campsite.

www.les-varennes.com

  • 19
  • 1624

Acceptance period

October 2018
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031    
November 2018
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  
December 2018
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Detail information about this campsite
Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.3

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.4
Staff
8.5
Price - quality comparison
8.4
Child friendliness
8.1
Entertainment
7.1
Sports facilities
7.1
Swimming pool
8.5
Food and drink
7.3
Surroundings
8.8

PK, on this campsite in June 2017

5.2

Travelling party: Couple

We didn't end up actually staying here, as we took a look around and although the pool was appealing the shower and toilet facilities and the over crowded pitches were unappealing, then to top it off we found the owners to be rude and unwelcoming.

Frank Dunne, on this campsite in May 2017

8.7

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely campsite with good size pitches,very few pitches suitable for Motorhome over 8m .Pitches can be sandy but solid .Very friendly staff.
Waste disposal point for Motorhome very tight we were unable to us it.
There could be more water taps on the site we only found one.

Alan Ingham, on this campsite in July 2016

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

This was our first visit to the island of Ile de Re and we chose to book at Les Varennes as a result of their Internet presentation along with reviews that we had read. Our actual experience was far better than what we had been expecting. The standard of cleanliness was excellent with even our pitch being prepared (removal of excess tree leaf fall etc) prior to our arrival. The staff were always available even beyond the advertised office opening times to offer advice with recommendations where appropriate and were, without exception, always extremely polite, respectful and friendly. We were especially appreciative of the efforts that the family made in ensuring that there were adequate seats for those people wishing to watch the live Euro 2016 football matches - even more so considering the sometimes late finishes. The facilities, including the open air and indoor heated swimming pools, free WiFi, bicycle rental for those not wanting to hunt endlessly for any cheaper deals but get on with their holiday and small although perfectly adequate shop all helped to create a wonderful holiday experience for my wife and I. In short, we are already looking forward to repeating the experience in 2017. Although we weren't able to thank all the personnel involved in ensuring our stay was made enjoyable - we are full of appreciation for each and every one of those involved at Les Varennes for the TEAM effort. Thank you.

Alan Ingham, on this campsite in June 2016

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

A really nice campsite offering both pitches for tents, caravans or motor home. Alternatively huts of various sizes and prices are also available to hire. Set approximately 300 meters from a wide sandy beach and centrally located this site is ideally located for those wishing to explore the island. Friendly and helpful staff along with modern amenities including WiFi add to it's appeal. The photo shown on this page is outdated with the indoor heated pool and outside pools being new in 2016.

Rebecca Bosley, on this campsite in June 2016

8.1

Travelling party: Seniors

Stayed 8 very enjoyable nights in our touring caravan. We visited the site a few nights before & booked in as it was very busy. This is a fab small friendly site. Great reception team who spoke good English & showed us to our pitch. Pitches can be a bit tight to get onto round the trees but ok with a mover. Pitches mainly had some tree shade with sandy base. The modern sanitaires were mixed but were always clean with a twice daily cleaning session. There was very good free wifi which we were able to use on our pitch. The outdoor pool was lovely as was the new indoor pool. I would imagine at the height of the season the pool area would be very crowded. It was an easy walk or quick cycle to the market which was held daily & the fish market was amazing. Overall a great location & lovely site.

Lily & Matt Woolrich, on this campsite in September 2014

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

We loved this site. staff really helpful, wonderful beach 20 mins walk, lovely market/village 15 mins walk. great spot to cycle too. pool lovely. We're going again this year !!

Lily & Matt Woolrich, on this campsite in September 2014

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Another that became a fave very quickly. Really friendly, in middle of trees, close to beach and lovely little village. Fantastic, tho need to book beforehand as gets very very busy.

Magnus, on this campsite in July 2012

7.6

Travelling party: Family with children, 12 - 18 years

This site is well working, have a good location, and is a good base to enjoy the island. Bring or hire bikes is an excellent way to get around. Some mobile kitchens visit the camp in high season, but the island have other better options for eating out. Camping prices are high.

General information

Period of opening
07-04-2018 till 30-09-2018
Area
2.5 ha
Number of touring pitches
56 (80 - 100m2)
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:120 m2
    • period:15-06/15-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Indoor swimming pool (heated)
    • surface area:120 m2
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:1
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:3G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • Reservation with CampingCard ACSI also possible
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:1
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:1
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Squatting-toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Heated toilet facilities
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Breakfast available
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Groceries: limited selection
  • Groceries: extensive selection
  • Bar
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Bicycles
  • Safes
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:120 m2
    • period:15-06/15-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Indoor swimming pool (heated)
    • surface area:120 m2
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:6 m2
    • Heated:Yes
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
Sports and play
  • Whirlpool
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Jeu de boules alley(s)
  • Children's playground: small
Recreation (adults)
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Sand
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,8 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,3 km
Disabled
  • Toilet-shower combination (215cmsx215cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Swimming pool with hoist
  • Special parking spaces for disabled people
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Special parking spaces for disabled people
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Euro-plug required
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds
Address & Route

Would you like to book Campsite Les Varennes or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

  • Campsite Les Varennes
    Raise Maritaise
    17580 / Le Bois-Plage-en-Ré
    France

  • Download GPS coordinates
    Select your navigation system:

     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:

    46°10'43"N 1°22'59"W
  • From the toll bridge, via the roundabout, onto the D201. In Le Bois-Plage follow the signs 'Les Varennes'.

  • Warning! Since July 13 2015, many French campsites are prohibited from installing their own signpost. We advise to use GPS-coordinates to locate the campsite.

  • Contact

  • www.les-varennes.com

Please contact us

Show on map
Load
The weather on this campsite

Weather forecast

Tue

11 / 12

 

Wed

12 / 12

 

Thu

13 / 12

 

Fri

14 / 12

 

Sat

15 / 12

 

Sun

16 / 12

 

Mon

17 / 12

 
Max. 10.1° 9.2° 6.9° 10.7° 11.6° 12.2°
Min. 2.6° 4.5° 4.2° 0.8° 2.9° 8.2° 7.9°
Precipitation 0% 55% 90% 5% 80% 80% 70%
Wind direction E ZO E NO S S S
Wind speed 3 2 3 3 4 4 4

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm)
Jan 86% 71
Feb 85% 39
Mar 81% 56
Apr 79% 88
May 81% 50
Jun 79% 45
Jul 81% 57
Aug 80% 45
Sep 79% 76
Oct 81% 98
Nov 81% 133
Dec 84% 107
Weeronline
Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Campsite Les Varennes".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.